about me / English / Thoughts

Getting fit in 2017

One of the most popular new year’s resolutions is getting healthy. This is further defined by the other resolutions such as: quitting smoking and losing weight. I myself stopped making new year’s resolutions years ago but I want to share some tips to those who want to get fit in 2017.

2,5 years ago I switched from running to fitness because I wanted to tone up my muscles. I am a member of a gym nearby my office. If one day I miss it, I do the exercises at home. These are three YouTube channels I use when exercising at home.

Jessicasmithtv

If you are a beginner and have never exercised before, this 30 minutes power walk for beginner from Jessica Smith might be something for you. The exercises are easy, you only need to walk with some movement as variations in between the intervals. I follow Jessica’s power walk training for cardio. Especially now in the winter, I’d rather stay inside when it is really cold to walk outside. The channel offers other kinds of exercising beside power walking.

FitnessBlender

The goal of FitnessBlender is making health and fitness attainable, affordable, and approachable. There are more of 500 free exercise videos available on YouTube. They vary from levels, my faves are HIIT-exercises. FitnessBlender is run by husband and wife, Daniel and Kelli. I happen to find Daniel’s voice who gives instructions, very calming. From FitnessBlender channel I chose this Low Impact Cardio Workout for beginners. It is easy and you burn calories = fat loss.

Blogilates

Fitness and Pilates instructor Cassey Ho is the owner of Blogilates. Cassey’s enthusiasm is contagious and very encouraging. On her website Blogilates you find not only videos but also recipes of healthy food. I am a fan of her pilates and short training focusing on abs and arm. This one from the early years of Blogilates is POP Pilates for beginner, total body workout.

Those are three of my favourite fitness YouTube channels. You can do all their training programmes at home. All you need are; internet data, a mat and a will. You can exercise in your own pace and on your own suitable time. Beside lifting weight at the gym, I have been doing Kayla Itsines Bikini Body Guide (BBG) for almost a year, I’m now in round 4 of BBG 1. I am no fitness blogger and not intend to be one. I started paying attention to tone my body somewhere in September 2014. And I have maintained this lifestyle which suits me well. I thought, if I can do it, why can’t you? Hence this post to share that getting fit is possible. You just need to start and do it.

Remember: Once you start exercising the result depends on your own effort. If you give 100%, you’d see it. For real beginners progress might be slow in the beginning but carry on and focus on your resolution: getting healthy and fit.

One thing I have learned to achieve maximum results; exercise, eat good nutritious food and take adequate rest. When you do this and are able to incorporate this in your daily life, then you’d have a healthy lifestyle.

I wish you all luck and perseverance!

 

35 thoughts on “Getting fit in 2017

  1. Thanks rekomendasinya mbak, kerasa kok bedanya olahraga sama enggak. Aku belum back on track ngegym lagi tapi masih sempetin yoga once a week for 1 hour and the result walaupun BB belum kembali ke BB sebelum hamil tapi temen2ku bilang body langsingan. Happy for sure, hahaha….

    • Sama-sama Shin. Ini videonya panjangnya variasi dari 5, 8, 10, 12, 15 sampe ke 30, 45 menit dan 1 jam. Aku suka. Memang kadang berat badan ngga ngaruh kalau badan kita kencang dan fit kelihatan langsing. Aku sekarang beratnya malah 5 kg dari waktu belum punya anak tapi karena mulai kelihatan toned jadi sama pake ukuran bajunya.

  2. Good videos! Exercise doesn’t take long, 30 minutes a day is enough to make you feel energised and what people don’t know is that exercise gives you more energy (for those who complain they don’t have time or energy to do exercise) 😉

    • Yup, continuity is key, be realistic with your goal and keep in mind that progress might be slow. That is indeed what I love about exercising; the adrenaline shot makes me feel energetic.

      • Baru play video pilatesnya. Yup sama persis sm pilates class ku cm klo aku latihan reformer pake weights jadi lebih berat resistancenya

  3. Thanks ya mba tipsnya.. Bisa dicoba nanti buat variasi olahraga. Skr aku lebih sering HIT juga versi kayla tp badan butuh variasi gerakan biar ototnya ga jenuh. Amazed bgt liat foto2 transformasi yg ikut BBG nya kayla.
    Kl mbak sendiri gmn progressnya?

  4. I did some exercise a few days ago, mainly squats, and my lower body just hurt so bad. I’m really out of shape. Btw, it wasn’t from any of the video guides you posted mbak 😊
    I like the pillate video, I have followed her for a while.

  5. Berguna banget kumpulan link nya mbak. Aku masih lari aja nih seminggu min 3x masing2 30 menit. Semoga bisa jadi 5x lagi seperti sebelumnya. Dari video di atas aku taunya yang Kayla Itsines aja hehehe.. Betul ya, sehat itu penting, apalagi tambah badannya toned. Aku jg ngerasa udah 30+ badan gak sekenceng dulu (maaf nih komen sekalian curcol jadinya).

  6. videonya bagus. memang olahraga itu perlu. biasanya suka olahraga renang, karena dianjurkan banyak dokter rehab medik untuk berbagai usia, tapi pilates juga dianjurkan untuk perbaiki postur. TFS, mba lorraine

  7. Exercising is a key to a good life. I feel better in a lot of aspects after I start regularly exercising. Sometimes, I even feel guilty if I skip it even for only a day!

  8. Gue juga doing si Kayla, Lo. Dirumah aza. Selain itu gue yoga 3x seminggu bikram dan vinyasa, sama walk my dog. Uda itu aza, yang penting ada olahraganya dan menjaga kesehatan, kalo bisa turun 5 kg a bonus hahaha!

    • Gw udah strong sih sekarang Ria, hampir 2,5 fitness dan hampir setahun BBG. Ngga perlu turun berat badan kalo gw yang penting garis di perut ngga hilang-hilang timbul ha..ha…

    • Hai Yus, Ini bukan resolusi aku tapi tips untuk yang punya resolusi mau hidup sehat tahun ini. Aku udah lama sport dan aktif cuma jarang/hampir ngga pernah sharing di media sosial aja 😉

  9. Thank you for the workout videos, I cannot wait to try them out this year! I would like to connect with you.

    I look forward to your reply.

    Kind regards
    Greta

  10. Pingback: Just Move – Core Restore Pilates

  11. Great post,I love the workout tips! ❤
    If you would be so kind and take a look at my blog I'd appreciate that so much! It's mostly dedicated to makeup, however, I'm a passionate cook as well and I've just published a recipe on healthy pancakes which are delicious, very nutritious and they are the best reward after a hard workout! Thank you so much for your time, I enjoyed reading your blog! ❤
    https://jarakanku.wordpress.com/

Tell me what you think

