Blogging / English / Social Media

Tell people who you are

This blog has been quite dormant for a couple of months as I only published a post once in a while from March untill October. Finally this month I have gotten my writing mojo back and take some time to write and maintain this online home of mine.

During my on and off period here, whenever I get a new follower, I always click on the name and want to check out the person behind it. I want to know more about those who follow this blog. Some of you, dear followers, are new to blogging, others have been around for quite some time. Several (new) blogs have no About Me page. A couple of you have the standard About Me page from your blog template with this text:

This is an example of an about page. Unlike posts, pages are better suited for more timeless content that you want to be easily accessible, like your About or Contact information. Click the Edit link to make changes to this page or add another page.

ofdzcr0

Image courtesy of Designed by Creativeart / Freepik

If I may suggest, adjust the About (me) page. Tell people who you are so that they are able to understand your writings better by knowing more about you. To begin with, write a text about yourself. I shared 5 tips concerning About Me page. Interacting with people online I do genuinely want to know with whom I talk to. Actually not only here in the blogosphere but on every social network. I always check the bio, profile or whatever it is called, to know more about the people behind it. Have you read mine? I call it The Author.

13 thoughts on “Tell people who you are

    • Yes, dan aku juga ada persona blog ini. Maksudnya tujuanku nulis disini untuk siapa. Kalau followers atau pembacaku di sini menyimpang dari persona blog ini (target groupnya) aku musti ganti arah atau apa lah. Sejauh ini sih ngga.

    • Knowing your followers and readers is important. Jadi bisa di cocokkan dengan tulisan dan tone kita nulis Gy. Nanti kapan deh aku tulis tentang target group (followers and readers) gitu termasuk persona mereka.

  1. Good advice I just find the question daunting. I think my about page says something like how can I sum up a human person in a few sentences? I will read your tips post next tho thank you!

    • Hi again. You can start by using words describing who you are and what you want to share. Words, not sentence. Write them first then decide if you can gather them in sentences or just sum them up. Good luck Echo and thanks for stopping by.

    • Betul. Aku kadang lebih kecewa kalau baca pos yang pertama muncul setelah aku ke satu blog yang belum pernah aku kunjungi sebelumnya. Terus browsing dan tulisannya blogger tersebut bagus tapi About Me pagenya ngga ada atau masih standar dari platform blogging tersebut.

  2. Waaah, aku jadi mau ngecek nih mbak Yo. Sepertinya aku tulis tentang About me, tapi kok lupa ya 😂. Aku kalo follow / follow back bloger lain juga lihat dari tulisan2nya dulu.. kepanjangan kadang prosesnya, apalagi buat aku yg nggak setiap hari mantengin HP buat blogging. Thanks tipsnya ya mbakyu 😊🙏🏼

Tell me what you think

