about me / Music / Music Monday

MM: Our love is here to stay

In memory of the recently passed Natalie Cole I chose one of her songs for this Music Monday. It is Our love is here to stay from her album Unforgettable. End of the 1980es when I was on high school my friends and I often listened to her songs: Pink Cadillac, Miss you like crazy, Good to be back etc…etc…

In 1991 Natalie Cole released Unforgettable. This album bears the name of her father’s single. So there she was, singing together with her deceased father, the great Nat King Cole, Unforgettable. This technique was a novelty at that time. Unforgettable had such a success that listening to standards was considered hip and trendy.

Those songs on this album, with their romantic lyrics had helped dragging me through the long distance relationship I had with my other half. I love all the songs from this album. In memory of Natalie Cole here is this Music Monday, Our love is here to stay.

It’s very clear
Our love is here to stay ;
Not for a year
But ever and a day.

The radio and the telephone
And the movies that we know
May just be passing fancies,
And in time may go !

But, oh my dear,
Our love is here to stay.
Together we’re
Going a long, long way

Good bye and farewell Natalie Cole. You are unforgettable.

4 thoughts on “MM: Our love is here to stay

  1. Mamaku penyuka Nat King Cole apalagi lagu Unforgettable ini tapi aku lebih suka dengerin versi duet sama Natalie. Dan setiap dia konser bawain lagu ini pasti dia selalu bilang ” thank you daddy ” so sweet banget. Sayang she’s no longer with us.😦

Tell me what you think

