Music / Music Monday

MM: Jamaica Farewell

Two weeks ago I got the tune of this Harry Belafonte’s classic: Jamaica Farewell. It is an oldie, released in 1957. I didn’t know where it came from. Perhaps it was an indirect influence of this post about Pidgin and Creole? I don’t know. That tune has been playing in my head ever since, not that I mind though. This song is beautiful, both the lyrics and the melody remind me of a sunny Kingston town.

Come, sing along with me:
Down the way where the nights are gay
And the sun shines daily on the mountain top
I took a trip on a sailing ship
And when I reached Jamaica I made a stop

But I’m sad to say I’m on my way
Won’t be back for many a day
My heart is down, my head is turning around
I had to leave a little girl in Kingston town

4 thoughts on “MM: Jamaica Farewell

  1. Hallo Mba Yoyen. This post really got my attention as i have always remember this song as one of the influential song during my early days of learning English. In fact, i wanted to write about this song for BEC Challenge #28. But there are just so many good songs to be written and i ended up writing about other oldies song year 1976 from Sue Thompson. Thank you for sharing the ‘Jamaica Farewell’🙂

Tell me what you think

