about me / English / Family

Unrooted

Since last week I have been unrooted. I have no parents anymore. Last Monday my mother passed away peacefully surrounded by her loved-ones. Cancer forced her to succumb. She is pain-free now. Her passing changes everything in my family.

It is a strange feeling to be an orphan. This is a new situation I yet need to adjust to. Death is extremely palpable and final to those who are left behind. There will be no more calls or texts to mother just because or simply asking for recipes.

I won’t write an extensive tribute to her as the loss is so present and tangible. I am not even sure if I am able to dedicate a post to her. I just want to remember her just as how she was.  She surely had lived her life to the max.

There she was, enjoying the sunset at Empuriabrava, Catalunia, Spain during our summer holiday in July last year.

Farewell mama. I will be seeing you again on the other side.

 

 

78 thoughts on “Unrooted

  1. Turut berduka cita ya Mbak, semoga keluarga yang ditinggalkan diberi ketabahan :)). Mamanya Mbak cantik, senyumnya manis, seperti Mbak juga :)).

  2. Mbak Yo, gecondoleerd… jadi inget terakhir ketemu kita ngobrol ttg mamanya mbak Yo ya. Beliau sudah tenang di surga, semoga mbak Yo dan keluarga juga diberi ketabahan…

  3. There is no words to describe the feeling of losing your love ones especially your mother. I am sure your mother had a very good and full life. Bisous!!!!

  4. mba yo, turut berduka yaa… AK ngerti bgt perasaan kehilangan seorang ibu. thn lalu ibuku meninggal. setelah berjuang bertahun-tahun melawan komplikasi diabetes, tidak bs tdr, kesakitan sepanjang hari, cuci darah… sampai sekarang pun kenangan dan memori tentang beliau masih teringat jelas dan membuat aku menitikkan air mata setiap saatnya.
    b strong mba….

  5. Turut berduka cita Mbak Yo. Maaf terlambat ini baru cek wordpress lagi.

    Dadaku sampai sesak bacanya. Sebagai seseorang yang tinggal beda negara dengan keluarga, this is one of my worst nightmares.

    May she rest in peace❤

  6. Pingback: Turin, Italian first capital | Chez Lorraine

  7. Pingback: A note from an orphan | Chez Lorraine

  8. Pingback: That Call | Chez Lorraine

Tell me what you think

