Music / Music Monday

MM: Lady Marmalade

Yesterday my daughter G turned 14. We celebrated her birthday by dining out. On the way to the restaurant, Lady Marmalade was on the radio. G said she liked it.

Then I remember when I was pregnant with her this song was on the chart in July 2001. This version is from Missy Elliot, Mya, Christina Aguilera and Pink.

The original Lady Marmalade by Labelle sisters was a summer hit in 1975. It means that this catchy song is 40 years old!

PS The French line in the refrain Voulez – vous couchez avec moi ce soir? means Would you like to sleep with me tonight? Err, although this is politely said but still considered rude to ask.

16 thoughts on “MM: Lady Marmalade

  1. Happy belated birthday G.
    Gak nyangka kalo lagu ini sudah 14 tahun dari sejak saya tahu. Suka sama dinamisnya lagu ini dan baru tahu versi aslinya! Makasih Mbak Yo🙂

  2. Joyeux Anniversaire pour G. She is a teenager now, and time really flies right?
    I love the song when they re-produced it in the early 2000, it is more glamorous, I guess I like the music video more I should say. It is funny with the French phrase “Voulez-vous coucher avec moi ce soir?”, the American really think that it is actually being used in daily conversation by the French:):):)

Tell me what you think

