about me / Music / Music Monday

MM: Dance tonight

This song from neo soul formation Lucy Pearl was a hit during Fall 2000 in The Netherlands. I danced to this so often in the club not knowing that I was pregnant. After I knew I was pregnant the clubbing stopped but I didn’t quit listening to this.

 

Lucy Pearl itself was a super soul formation, established by Raphael Saadiq from Tony! Toni! Toné! and D’Angelo. Dawn Robinson from En Vogue (one of Beyonce’s inspirations) and Ali Shaheed Muhammad from A Tribe Called Quest joined later on. Unfortunately D’Angelo left the group and so did Dawn, leaving the fans with only one album. Lucy Pearl was neo-soul. This song is special for me cause it reminds me of my first weeks being pregnant. The Fridays rituals before going out, outstanding mood and  I was high of happiness back then and at the same disbelief that I was carrying a living creature in my belly.

Now, 15 years later I still dance to this song. It is hard not to do it because of the catchy tune. I wanna dance tonight ….

6 thoughts on “MM: Dance tonight

Tell me what you think

