about me / Blogging / English

Me, inspiring?

Last month Sandrine kindly gave me this very inspiring blogger award. And last week Ryan forwarded me the same award as well. As a blogger with a tagline: to share to inform and to inspire, I am honored to have been nominated for this very inspiring blogger award, thank you so much Sandrine and Ryan. 



 Accepting the award I need to follow the rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  • Display the award on your post.
  • List the award rules so your nominees will know what to do.
  • State 7 things about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.
  • Contact your nominees to let them know you have nominated them. Provide a link to your post.
  • Proudly display the award logo (or buttons) on your blog, whether on your side bar, ABOUT page, or a special page for awards.

These are 7 trivial things about me:
1. I love to cook but I don’t do gardening and I don’t sew either. I have no intention to be the next Martha Stewart.
2. Patience is not my strongest feature, I could be very impatient but I have learnt how to deal with it.
3. Since a friend passed away 10 years ago in young age, I have read obituaries in the papers, every day.
4. I love speed but I hate height however I am not afraid of flying. To me flying is almost identical to holiday.
5. Working fulltime and stimulating my creative side I can’t always keep my house tidy. My excuse I keep telling myself, untidy house means creative people live in it.
6. I know myself better than anyone. I know what I want, what my demons and my insecurities are.
7. I see my surroundings in frames and compositions. If I could, I would capture what I see every day.

And these are very inspiring bloggers I forward this award to

  • Indonesia in my pocket. This blog gives you a peek of a life in the UK and art. Visiting it refreshes my eyes.
  • Ailsa. I feel that Ailsa and I inspire each other. We write and share the same interest about women’s position and rights and other social issues in Indonesia. She is bold and can be funny too. Give her a visit and you know what I mean.
  • I found Aquileana’s blog, La audacia de aquiles last year. It is a treasure full of stories about Greek mythology. Aquileana takes her time to write her complete and thorough post. To me as fan of Greek mythology, her blog is like an encyclopedia.
  • A little piece of Zilko’s life. The owner of this a bilingual blog is Zilko, an Indonesian mathematician who currently lives in Delft, The Netherlands pursuing his PhD. He consistently writes in English and Bahasa Indonesia. I find that very inspiring.
  • Last but not least, a dear friend of mine, Indah. She lifts underwater photography to another level.

To the nominees, the nomination is not obligatory to do although I would really appreciate it if you would. That is the spirit of blogging, to engage and interact.

34 thoughts on “Me, inspiring?

  1. Thank you so much Mba Yo for inspiring me. I am glad to know you via blog. And now I know little bit more about you.

  2. I’m not surprised you got this award, Mbak. Your blog gives me much insight and knowledge, and I always admire your thoughts. Thank you for inspiring me, and so many other people🙂

    • Thank you for your kind words Dixie. Now I know that there are people out there who regularly read my post, this stimulates me to write more.

      I don’t know why but I just have this strong urge to share what I know. It feels good and rewarding when my thoughts inspire others.

  3. You inspired me in many ways Mbak Yo, as Mbak Mikan wrote in her commer, I can always find something interesting and useful here. Btw I love this part “untidy house means creative people live in it.”😀

  4. Saya tidak banyak posting urusan diri sendiri di Facebook sekarang, karena ikutan tagline blog mbak yo to share to inspire to inform & to interact. Ya memang mbak yo menginspirasi

    • Makasih Ruru. Iya, aku update di FB udah jarang. Paling pasang link. Kalo nyampah di Path juga hanya pasang meme yang lucu-lucu. Dan urusan sendiri aku filter untuk dibagi diblog. Ini bukan jaim tapi ngga perlu lah aku sering berkeluh kesah dengan hidupku disini, bukan urusan orang dan siapa juga yang tertarik baca, iya ngga?😉

  5. This is amazing!🙂 you are very kind Mba. You are definitely one of my biggest inspiration in blogging, so it is a true honour to get this awarded by you. *jumping up and down very excited.🙂

  6. I, too, have a bad relationship with tidying and cleaning work. I always think that those people who can clean and tidy things very neatly, nicely, and cleanly–including my mother and my sister–have some sorts of magic in doing their work, while others–me, for example–don’t have that magic, so when I started to make things clean and neat, no other thing will I make except… a new mess :hihi. I agree, guess I am too creative.
    Thank you so much for being our inspiration. Your posts surely have enlightened us a lot :)).
    Keep writing and keep inspiring, Miss Yo.

    • Gara,

      This refers to my living room actually. I mean a magazine or two on the table and a plaid on the couch don’t bother me. And I don’t hyperly overreact if someone spills a drink on my coffee table😉 For the rest if the house it is quite tidy and neat but not so neat that it ressembles a furniture show room ha…ha…

      Thank you for your kind words Gara. Reading you calling me Miss makes me feel like a school teacher which is good. Once I wanted to become one but it didn’t work out.

      • Speaking of spilling drinks, I do it quite often :hehe :peace. Clumsy me!
        Ah, you’re welcome. Honestly, for me, you’re a teacher now. As a mentor in BEC, you do the teaching very well, Miss.

  7. Thank you so much mba Yo for accepting this award🙂
    You inspire me to write more and more mba Yo.
    Btw, I love your last statement, can I copy and paste that to my blog widget?

  8. Congrats mb Yo! I am also your blog fans! Your blogposts always give me new insight and knowledge. I am kinda addicted to your posts, including your lofoodie! Thanks mb Yo!

  9. I am one of your fan also, and liked your blog the first time I read it. For sure you have inspired other women and men bloggers who follow you including ME!!

  10. Hi Lorraine,

    Greetings. I have been reading your blog for a while now and always like it. I am new to blogging. Well, it’s more like on and off because works and family consume most of my time. Recently, I’ve committed to writing more because somewhat I’m inspired by a friend of mine who is a blogger in Indonesia. From just a very short time I have been reading your blog, you somewhat inspired me too. It’s not easy to find a blog that I can enjoy reading.
    I think those awards are well deserved. Congrats.

    • Hi Erita,

      Nice meeting you too. Welcome to the blogosphere! Thank you for your kind words I hope to welcome you more often here.

Tell me what you think

