about me / Music / Music Monday

MM: The Boxer

My late father was an avid fan of Simon and Garfunkel. This song has beautiful, meaningful lyrics. It is one of his favourites. He used to play guitar and my sisters and I would sing a long.

I am just a poor boy
Though my story’s seldom told
I have squandered my resistance
For a pocketful of mumbles
Such are promises
All lies and jests
Still a man hears what he wants to hear
And disregards the rest

When I left my home and my family
I was no more than a boy
In the company of strangers
In the quiet of the railway station
Running scared
Laying low, seeking out the poorer quarters
Where the ragged people go
Looking for the places only they would know

Lie la lie…

Asking only workman’s wages
I come looking for a job
But I get no offers
Just a come-on from the whores on Seventh Avenue
I do declare, there were times when I was so lonesome
I took some comfort there

Lie la lie…

Then I’m laying out my winter clothes
And wishing I was gone
Going home
Where the New York City winters aren’t bleeding me,
Leading me, going home.

In the clearing stands a boxer
And a fighter by his trade
And he carries the reminders
Of every glove that laid him down
Or cut him till he cried out
In his anger and his shame
“I am leaving, I am leaving”
But the fighter still remains

Lie la lie…

10 thoughts on “MM: The Boxer

  1. aku tahu S & G dari hubby mbak xixii dan sukaaaa pake bangeth! Tahun depan Paul Simon konser mbak bareng Sting, too bad Art nya ga ikut, pasti amazing banget nonton mereka konser scara langsung🙂

      • ya ampun udah tua2 gitu baru gak cocok nya sekarang…Sempet liat konser terakhir mereka di NY (kl ga salah) di Youtube, udah tua2 bangeth dan mengharukan konsernya.

        Aku pikir karena Garfunkel nya yg sakit….

        • Itu konser di Central Park tahun 1982. Epic banget. Gw kalo denger itu pake headset terus tutup mata, ngebayangin ada disana ha…ha…

          Susah deh kalo seniman ide berkreasi ngga cocok, jadi bubar dan musuhan. Sama seperti Paul McCartney & John Lennon.

  2. aku dulu sering dengar mereka juga karena papaku …,
    Like a bridge over troubled water salah satu yg kusuka

  3. engga pernah ga suka sama pilihan musik nya mba yoyen, bagus bagus musik pilihannya, aku jadi banyak referensi deh buat dengerinnya, thanks mba

Tell me what you think

