Music / Music Monday

MM: Canção do Mar

This Music Monday is dedicated to 30 days movie challenge I am doing right now. Canção do Mar is a Portuguese Fado from Dulce Pontes. This melancholic song is part of the soundtrack from the movie Primal Fear starring Richard Gere. In the movie you hear Canção do Mar in the scene where Richard Gere’s character sit in one café waiting for a woman. I don’t speak Portuguese but I love Fado. Listening to the melody makes me feel the melancholy although I don’t understand the lyrics. Ok, I could guess some words as they seem similar like Spanish words. Read the explanation about Fado in What is Fado. Canção do Mar means Song of the Sea. I hear sorrow, lonelyness and pain in it. What do you hear?

5 thoughts on “MM: Canção do Mar

Tell me what you think

