about me / Culinary / English

Counting sheeps?

What do you do when you can’t fall asleep, counting sheeps or anything else?

It is 11.40 pm now and I am wide awake. I have just finished a 12 pages translation task Dutch – Bahasa Indonesia. My head is full of punctuation marks, sentence’s structures and sayings in both languages. I try to relax by looking at my cookbooks or browsing Foodgawker. The newest cookbook on the bookshelf I am reading right now is from Rachel Khoo.
In bed I love to see the foodpics, reading the recipes and imagining when I indeed make the dish! By this thought I tend to relax. Then I grabbed my iPhone to share this here. You see, I am actually a nocturnal but I try to catch at least 7 hours sleep to stay healthy.

Counting sheeps
Picture courtesy of Sasa’s Kitchen

What do you do if you can’t fall asleep easily?

PS Good luck Indonesians with the election tomorrow!

22 thoughts on “Counting sheeps?

  1. I often can’t sleep too Lo meskipun besoknya itu harus bangun pagi as early as 5am. Especially when my hubby’s away which is often! I read boring book and it usually works 😊

      • Hahahaa something that you’re not interested in reading it, like I ‘m not really into JR Rowling The Lord of The Rings series ( I know am weird!) often when I can’t sleep reading couple pages of it make me fall asleep🙂 Or have you tried Camomile tea?

  2. When I can’t sleep mostly caused by so many things crossed my mind. In order to fall asleep I usually daydreaming and finally sleep

  3. aku baca buku kuliah yg ga terlalu aku suka tapi harus baca mbak Yo dan biasanya cepet ngantuk😀

  4. Watch TLC at night – mostly the series are so boring so I fell asleep quickly…or read a book that you know you will never finish it. I have one e-book in my kindle, gosh, it has been a year I tried to finish the book, but always feel asleep when reading it :))

      • The book is Murder in Amsterdam by Ian Buruma..It is actually an interesting book about Theo van Gogh killing and Islam in the Netherlands, but my oh my, I always fell asleep after several pages..Maybe you should try read it to overcome your sleepless nights..🙂

  5. Biasanya dengerin lagu kalau aku Mba, soalnya aku malah kalau tenaaaang banget susah tidur, aneh yaa hehe. Jadi aku pilih lagu santai2 atau instrumental ntar lama2 jd rileks trus tidur😀

  6. Err,,, this is actually a confession. I eat pills named Anarex whenever I couldn’t sleep. It’s actually a muscle relaxant. I know it’s not a good habit, but trust me, it’s the only thing that works. But FYI, it is very RARE for me not to be able to sleep, usually only when I’m too excited about something :p

    • Ok, if you rarely can fall asleep, taking pills is no harm. I am not insomniac but sometimes it is difficult for me to fall asleep right away.

  7. Aku biasa cuma merem2 aja mba di tempat tidur. Nungguin ngantuk dateng. Atau mentok denger2 lagu yang slow. Karna kalo berkegiatan lagi misalnya kayak baca buku/liat hp yang ada makin ga bakal tidur.

    • Dulu aku gitu, tapi ngga bisa langsung tidur. Aku susah tidur kalo lagi sibuk atau banyak pikiran ya, kalo ngga sih begitu ketemu bantal langsung tidur.

Tell me what you think

