English / Thoughts

NSA scandal

My eleven years old daughter and I have been following the updates about the NSA scandal closely. We discussed about it when it came out last week-end. She asked me what it really meant for us as active internet users. I told her people presumed about the spying but had no slightest idea how big it was. After it came out, it seemed like the presumption has been confirmed. What Snowden leaked was shocking to some extent that major brands like Google, Facebook, Skype, YouTube and many more provide an entry at their backdoor to NSA for gaining the information.

20130611-185858.jpg

Those are brands we know and which most of us access on daily basis. I told G the spying allows NSA to see which apps I purchased last week Wednesday on my iTunes account or which beauty tutorial she viewed on YouTube. These examples made it more vivid to her about the reach of the scandal. It affects all of us. This is what Snowden wanted to achieve, that people have an opportunity to express their opinion about this.

As you all know the story is still unraveling, updates are issued by the hour. Edward Snowden’s whereabout in Hong Kong is unknown. If or when he would ask for asylum, which country would he choose and how? And what would US government do about this? How would Obama’s team spin this to the nation and the world? Mind you, NSA doesn’t officially exist. How would you deny a scandal of an organ which doesn’t exist? It seems like a movie turns to reality to me.

In the end I wonder: Is this all worth it to maintain the freedom by offering the tiny bit privacy we posses?

Picture is taken from here.

7 thoughts on “NSA scandal

  1. It’s actually scary how privacy has gotten more scarce each day. When I talk to my 11 years old niece, I don’t think her world knows or understands much about privacy as she assumed that these days, everything and everyone are on facebook, barenaked.
    Edward did mention that the informations that he possessed are disturbing. I’m still waiting for more updates actually, but for us, common people, we can actually filter the informations itself. Internet really does change the way people live.

    • Privacy has become a luxurious good nowadays. My daughter is well aware of her privacy on the net because I have been emphasizing this to her since I gave her her own phone two years ago. By showing her cases which went wrong (cyber bullying and online child predators among others) she knows what to share online. This is the reason why I couldn’t be more personal in my post regaring my family🙂

      Yeah, I am anxiously waiting for more updates to come. I keep wondering though, how would NSA get out of this? Does it still go on gaining information? The latter is a pragmatic question though. We wait and see. Meanwhile let’s keep blogging🙂

      • Yeah that’s the right word! Privacy is now luxury. Gila yah kebayang gak 10 tahun lagi udah kayak apa? We’re both the lucky and the cursed generation to have lived in such an era. Bener2 ngerasain perubahan yang extreme.

  2. What NSA is doing is scary. A state within the state acting like Big Brother. What their European counterparts do in all likelihood is as scary. PRISM is just another element of a society in which civilians are under permanent surveillance. It’s a post-democratic state which is looming around the corner. Scary indeed.

    It not very clear ( at least not to me) what to do about it. Though there of course are exceptions ( I guess your daughter is one) the general feeling among participants in modern communication is that privacy is not a issue. In social media people expose their most intimate dreams, ambitions, relations and actions. I’m afraid I’m included.

    • Right, most of people tolerate it by saying “I have nothing to hide”. This worries me a lot cause that tiny bit space where we thought we could be ourselves is apparently not ours anymore.

      • I agree. People do not think the long term repercussions when they say “I have nothing to hide”. Even if you did do something illegal innocently (accept it there are literally millions of sections of laws that you will never know exists), you can be fully charged to the extent law will allow. Imagine if some elite corporate or government representative decides that in order to weed out troublemakers they start identifying people solely based on the data they have…a dystopian future in imminent.

        http://lyricallifestyle.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/nsa-scandal-and-edward-snowden/

        • It is indeed scary. And a news I heard yesterday that Facebook automatically creates shadow accounts worries me.

          In case you don’t know what shadow accounts are: one Facebook user attaches his cell number to his account. Facebook acceses then numbers of his contacts on his cell. Including those who don’t have a Facebook account.

Tell me what you think

