about me / English / History / Thoughts / Women

Enough is enough

Today is international Women’s Day. My last post about this event dated 2 years ago concerning its centenary celebration. After 102 years a special day focusing on women’s rights is sadly still needed.

20130308-000146.jpg

This year’s theme for International Women’s Day, is: “A promise is a promise: Time for action to end violence against women” as a response to rising (sexual) violence against women (gang rape in India, abductions in Ciudad de Juarez, Mexico). Here’s a message from United Nation’s Secretary General Ban Ki Moon. UN Women Executive Director Michelle Bachelet says in her impressive video message that enough is enough. She also calls for action to end violence against women.

Unfortunately there are people who make fun of rape. A few months ago a highly Indonesian official joked about a rape. This went viral. I saw this on my timeline. To my surprise there were women who liked the joke. When I asked them why, they found it funny. Some even told me not to be serious leaving me in disbelief. It is tough to change people’s mind set about violence against women. I guess there’s an attitude like ‘as long as it doesn’t happen to me, I may laugh about it’. Well, I haven’t experienced any violence at all but I do hope violence against women will shrink.

I close this post with a quote by Gloria Steinem
Women are not going to be equal outside the home until men are equal in it.

3 thoughts on “Enough is enough

  1. Though I totally and absolutely agree with you (and Michelle Bachelet) I’m afraid Gloria Steinem’s quote – though in the Dorothy Parker league of aphorisms- is an illusion; generally speaking the difference between a womb and not a womb will have impact on relations in a family with children.

    • Steinem’s quote is almost the same as Simone de Beauvoir’s ‘One is not born a woman but becomes one’. Steinem was indeed a radical feminist, I quoted her to wake my readers up🙂

  2. Pingback: Inspiring Change | Chez Lorraine

Tell me what you think

