about me / Culinary / English / Homesick / Science / Thoughts

We are still here

As promised last year I will write about today. The day some people have been living up to, the end of the world. Preppers were well prepared for today, some gathered together, some sat in their ark waiting for the flood to come. The Mayans themselves started celebrating this new cycle of life last
week.

20121221-233546.jpg

Start of the holiday
One thing certain today is the Winter Solstice here in the northern hemisphere. As you can see in the picture above, today was misty with a normal cold temperature, the sun shone less than 8 hours. Waking up in the morning, checking upon Twitter to see witty, serious, funny tweets #endoftheworldconfessions passing by on my timeline I then took a snap of the misty morning in the hood. The rest of the day I was busy baking with my daughter and taking pictures of the baked goods for my foodblog. Just now I have just finished watching 3 hour long Cloud Atlas. So, this sounds pretty boring for you, doesn’t it? Not for me as today is the start of my 2 weeks long holiday. I will recharge myself by spending time with my family and friends. Surely homesick is something I have to deal with during this festive season but this is nothing to complain about because we are still here.

2 thoughts on “We are still here

  1. Some people – well, a lot of people- try to escape from Dutch grey skies, drizzle, fog, darkness and uncomfortable temperatures, to warm sunny resorts or cold Alpine snowcapped mountains. I never understood. To me December over here is the magic combination of soft, sweet melancholy, cosiness and the bright side of family life.

    Anyhow. Have a great holiday and Merry X-mas & Happy New Year to you and your loved ones.

Tell me what you think

