about me / English / Entertainment / Music

4 decades What’s going on

Today is the 40th anniversary of Marvin Gaye’s masterpiece, What’s going on. He recorded this song inspired by what he said in an interview with Rolling Stone magazine.

Marvin Gaye What's going on

“In 1969 or 1970, I began to re-evaluate my whole concept of what I wanted my music to say… I was very much affected by letters my brother was sending me from Vietnam, as well as the social situation here at home. I realized that I had to put my own fantasies behind me if I wanted to write songs that would reach the souls of people. I wanted them to take a look at what was happening in the world”.

Political consciousness
The song shows his political engagement and consciousness of what’s going on in that era. For an insight information read this. Together with Al Cleveland and Renaldo Benson Marvin Gaye completed this song and recorded it. This was completely against the trend of sweet Motown sound at that time.  Just listen to his smooth voice and meaningful lyrics of it.

The song as a tribute
For the youngsters among us, this one is another version of What’s going on. A tribute to the victims of 9 11 in 2001.

El Mariachi arrangement
And this one is a funny version of Cuba Gooding Jr in Jerry McGuire the movie.

3 thoughts on “4 decades What’s going on

  1. Pffft. ’71. Long time gone. I’m getting really old:(.

    But then again it still is a brilliant song by a great performer🙂.

    • Together with Al Green, Marvin Gaye was the soul man. Yes, it was the 40th anniversary of What’s going on and Bob Dylan turned 70 yesterday. We are all getting old certainly.

  2. Pingback: Blog Post 1 | elizabethchroninger

Tell me what you think

