about me / Dutch Affairs / Photography

Welcoming the rabbit

Yesterday I went to windy The Hague for the chinese new year celebration. In the past years the procession with chinese dragon accompanied with fire works at the end through The Hague Chinatown has been an attraction to 25.000 (local) tourists like me for example. However, due to financial cuts from The Hague municipality the procession this year was small. This didn’t ruin the fun though for me as there was enough to see and experience.

The year of the rabbit
In the Chinese zodiac, the rabbit is fourth in a cycle of 12 animals that represent each Chinese New Year. 2011 is the Year of the Rabbit and occurs from February 3, 2011 to January 22, 2012. The Year of the Rabbit should be a peaceful year. Rules and regulations will not be as strictly enforced and people will have fun and relax. Overall, it should be a moderate year with an easygoing pace. People born under the Year of the Rabbit possess characteristics similar to a rabbit, while aspects of their lives also reflect a rabbit’s tendencies.

Stage at the city hall
In the massive city hall of The Hague there was a huge stage for performances of an artistic group from China. Some vips of the chinese communities sat among the public. The presenters were bilingual in Dutch and Mandarin. Me, with my 1.60 m had to struggle to be able to get adequate space for taking pics as shown below.

During the fantastic show and among other photographers both professionals and amateurs I managed to stand next to the stage. So I was able to take the following pics.

Chinese diner
Closing the day I ate my diner at Fat Kee restaurant located in Gedempte Gracht, The Hague. If you happen to be in The Hague, try this restaurant. You won’t be disappointed.

Should you want to see more pics I took yesterday. You are welcome at my flickr page.

Whatever the rabbit may bring this year I wish you a prosperous and peaceful chinese year.

2 thoughts on “Welcoming the rabbit

  1. Looks like it was a very festive and colourful event.

    And on top of that Fat Kee🙂. We went there several times. Like you we did enjoy the meals and the, eh, spectacular contrast between the delicious food and the sometimes characteristic, or I would rather say, peculiar kind of hospitality🙂

Tell me what you think

