about me / Dutch Affairs / English / Homesick / Thoughts / Women

Mother, how are you today?

Today is mother’s day. Every second Sunday of May mothers are to be spoiled, more respected by their loved-ones. Mothers experience in one day the appreciation being the Family Manager.

The way the loved-ones (husband and children) express their appreciation varies from looking after the Breakfast in Bed, gifts or doing mother’s daily chores, only today.

LXF0NCA65J9EECAX4358PCA31DZ4UCADKTWLTCANETMB1CA94NGO9CA4DV337CA2WD6E0CA0XMDX4CA14U0MOCAPD3B6ECAPOJSFQCAZ2KX0DCA26XJ62CATH5TF5CALVMST3CAP0NC9CCAH951CICA4RK589

I wonder, why only today. Firstly  I don’t think there is any mother in the world who wants something in return from being a mother. As you all know, parent’s love is unconditional.

Secondly, I’m not really fond of commercialization of such events. My most memorable mother’s day gift I got was a simple rhyme from G. She wrote that she didn’t always like what I cooked. She hated it when I was mad at her (of course, raising children is a hell of a job😉. I am a firm mom. I can’t be an angelic mother all the time), but above all she wrote at the end that loved me because I was her mother for now and always.

Me and my daughter G

Me and my daughter G

Last point on this subject, please remember the divorced mothers or mothers who just can’t get a long with their loved-ones due to some reasons. What do you think they feel today? While most mothers are spoiled to the bone, they wait in vain for some signs from their loved-ones at this mother’s day.

So, for those of you who miss you mother, call her and just ask her this simple question “Mother, how are you today?”

8 thoughts on “Mother, how are you today?

  1. Eh komentar gw kok ngga nyambung ya? LOL. What G wrote on the card is so sweet. Naivety of our little girls which won’t last forever ….

    • Yes indeed. We are their role model but for how long will this last? The balance between happy mothers & happy kids are for some unfortunately a bridge too far.

  2. happy mother’s day to you yoyen

    I never realised how hard / difficult task a raising a child could be until I am adult and able to see myself and people around me.
    🙂

  3. Sending much love and warm wishes to all the Moms here including the owner of this blog🙂
    …. just thinking of all the great Moms that are no longer with us, but who through their children live on in our hearts and in our minds. HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!

Tell me what you think

